I’m back

Screen shot 2013-06-16 at 6.50.53 PM

I’m typing this as another lazy Sunday afternoon turns to evening. Seems like as good a time as any to announce my return to my site/blog.

I’m sure all artists experience creative blockages, dry spells…even artistic frustration. The last three weeks of my journey have been extremely challenging. Of course it’s difficult to come home from a busy workday and pick up a paintbrush. But unless you’re the fortunate heir to a trust fund–and I can assume that not many artists are–you work, just like I do. So I don’t use my banking career as an excuse.

I am consistently called on the productivity carpet when I visit museums and galleries. Today’s artists catalog thousands of works in their careers. Not unlike the Old Masters who literally skipped sleeping and eating to paint, sacrifice pays off in the art world now more than ever.

The Warhol quote above resurfaced this week as I was reconsidering my direction. For me, the word creative does not conjure up an image of restriction, calmness, control. Instead, I envision chaos, energy, even abandon.

With new resolve, I am committed to that brand of creativity. The one that just keeps moving while the rest of the world is merely thinking about it.

Thoughts? Please leave me a comment.

2 thoughts on “I’m back

  1. I love this. For me, the hardest part of being in the art world is not finding inspiration to “pick up a paintbrush” (or in my case a pen as a poet), it’s instead fighting the massive amounts of doubt that like to rush at my brain as I question the validity of being a creative, free spirit trying to make a mark on the art world. In other words, I will always write, but I will also always wonder if anyone out there will see it. Hope that makes sense!

  2. I am so happy that you are back! You are such an amazing and creative artist. I wish you the best in your business and life. Don’t hesitate to let us know if you ever need anything.

Leave a comment